My curly crown!

Standard

My Curly Crown

I had straightened
Plaited it
Washed it
And loved it.
But still it grew with a definitive curl

I cursed it,
Tormented it
Cut it,
Willed it to grow
But with each tug it sprung back to life

I wished upon the heavens
Even borrowed from distant sisters
Played with it
Coaxed it
But it would not bow down.

Till the dawn of my awakening
I understood this not,
That my crown begged to define
Who I was inside
Unique and strong, that would be me.

Now I comb and oil it,
Feed my fingers through its coily maze.
Marvel at its versatility
It sits regal and unapologetic,
The perfect crown for this lovely face.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: My curly crown! | edge of frog

Leave a Reply

